

## **TEAMSTERS CANADA RAIL CONFERENCE**

## CONFÉRENCE FERROVIAIRE DE TEAMSTERS CANADA

**Douglas Finnson** President Président

**Roland Hackl** Vice-President Vice-Président 1710-130 Rue Albert Street Ottawa, ON - K1P 5G4 Tél: (613) 235-1828 Fax: (613) 235-1069 www.teamstersrail.ca Christopher Lowe Secretary Treasurer Secrétaire-Trésorier

**Don Ashley** National Legislative Director Directeurlégislatif national

October 10, 2018

TCRC Division Delegates, Presidents and Secretary Treasurers TCRC General Chairs, TCRC Provincial Legislative Board Chairs,

RE: 2018 TCRC Quadrennial Convention Report

Further to previous correspondence announcing the 2018 TCRC Quadrennial Convention, it is my pleasure to report to you the Convention in Vancouver has concluded and all Delegates have returned to their respective Divisions.

A large portion of the Delegates responsibility is to work through the Bylaws Committee Report and Recommendations, and attached you will find a letter to IBT General President, Brother J. Hoffa outlining the 18 Bylaws changes debated and eventually authorized by the Delegates. IBT President approval is necessary for the adoption of the Bylaws as modified.

Once the approval process is completed, we will be updating and printing the TCRC Bylaws in both official languages and distribution to the Divisions, General Committees and Provincial Boards will be completed in due course.

Also attached are the results of the Nominations and Elections process conducted in accordance with TCRC Bylaws, Section 6. The positions of President, Vice President, and Secretary Treasurer each have two nominees, and those positions will be elected by secret ballot of the rank and file membership vote by members in good standing. Each nominee is on the ballot having achieved the minimum required 5% of the votes cast by Delegates in attendance; the results of the delegate vote are listed immediately following their names.

Further election information will be distributed in due course as the Election Supervisor and the Executive Board establish the various dates and adopt the specific Election Rules.

The Delegates while in session elected eight officers and congratulations are extended to each of the successful officers. The results of the Delegate vote and those successfully elected are listed on the attached Nominations and Elections results.

.../2



Tickets for prize draws were available during the Convention, and the \$3,400.00 raised was donated to the BC Children's Hospital Foundation. A group of officers made another donation with their own money, where they provided \$5,900.00 to a Vancouver single parent of a child fighting cancer. The generosity and compassion demonstrated by our Delegates and Officers is remarkable.

The 2018 TCRC Quadrennial Convention was a success and each of the Delegates are to be congratulated for their attention to every detail and their participation in the discussion and debates. A special thanks is extended to the Ottawa Office staff who worked diligently to maintain a working office while at the Convention, and particular recognition goes to Line Robillard who managed much of the on screen balloting for Bylaws adoptions as well as the nomination and election process. Their hard work and attention to detail was a large factor in the successful three-day convention.

We also thank our guest speakers, particularly:

- Teamsters Canada President, François Laporte;
- Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen President, Dennis Pierce;
- Brotherhood's Relief & Compensation Fund President, Jesse Taylor;
- North American Railway Foundation Chairman, Phil Sullivan;
- Human Fatigue Specialist, Clint Marquardt;
- Pension Actuary, S. Chortyk;
- Legal Counsel, Denis Ellickson who put on several extensive and riveting presentations on subjects of importance and interest to the membership;
- PC Member of Parliament for Milton and Deputy Leader of the Official Opposition, the Honourable Lisa Raitt;
- Liberal Member of Parliament for Thunder Bay-Superior North and Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour, the Honourable Patricia A. Hajdu.

Special recognition goes to Michael Church, Legal Counsel from the law firm of CaleyWray, who as the Convention Parliamentarian was able to maintain decorum throughout the entire three days in session.

Finally, I wish to recognize the TCRC Executive Board officers for their work the past four years. It was a pleasure to work with them on many challenging and eventful projects and issues. It is a credit to our organization that our senior elected officers led by example and practiced unity and solidarity each and every day of their term. "Unity Builds Power", and the necessity of Unity and Solidarity is as meaningful now as it ever has been in the history of organized labour.

October 10, 2018 Page 3

In answer to the anticipated questions if this election will be using electronic voting, the answer is no. This election will be by secret mail in ballot. This is a requirement of the TCRC Bylaws and the IBT Constitution where it requires all direct rank and file voting in these elections be conducted by mail ballot.

Very soon we will be calling upon General Committees and Divisions to review and verify the active membership lists and contact information you have for those members within your jurisdiction. Please take the time to insure those lists are as correct as possible and to respond as soon as possible so that the election process may take place with full participation.

This concludes my Report on the Fourth Quadrennial Teamsters Canada Rail Conference Convention.

Sincerely and in Solidarity,

Douglas Firm

Douglas Finnson
President TCRC

cc: TCRC Executive Board Officers